SCONE GOLF REPORT: Tough to score amid wind and rain

It was a very challenging day for golf on Saturday, July 17 at Scone Golf Course.

Early rain and then howling wind, coupled with wet ground made scoring well very difficult. A field of 31 hardy golfers endured the day playing an 18 hole stableford which was kindly sponsored by Kevin Bailey Building.

The winner with a very good score of 37 points was Will Druitt who is benefiting from more frequent play.

The next best score was by both Charlie Wintle and Clayton Rogers on 35 points and they received the second and third place prizes. Charlie's day was enhanced by a fine shot on the 4th to 0.73 metres to win the NTP and also the Jackpot of four balls. The other NTPs went to Paul Smart on the 8th at 14 metres and Will Druitt 2.33 metres on the 13th, while no one hit it on the green into the wind on the 17th hole.

The ball winners were: Will Druitt 37, Charlie Wintle, Clayton Rogers 35, Brad Baker 32, Luke Stevens, David Bradshaw, Paul Smart 31, Andrew Dick, Brad Hockley, Tim Smith 30 and Michael Morton 29 points on a countback from Jim Elder and Tony Pringle.

Similarly, the ladies had a difficult day for golf on Thursday, July 15. The overnight rain made the going tough and depleted the field. They played an 18 hole stableford sponsored by Scone Golf Club and the District Medal qualifier was postponed until the following week. The winner was Lyn Banks who had 31 points followed by runner up Dordie Bragg on 29 points. Balls went to these players plus Leanda Nutt and Kerry McLennan on 27 points on a countback from Mandy Fisher. Lyn Banks also won the NTP 13th .

There were some excellent rounds on Wednesday, July 14 in the 18 hole medley stableford. Andrew Parry Okeden and Jake Teague both had par rounds to record 39 points and 38 points respectively. Andrew was the winner with Jake being amongst the ball winners along with Luke Stevens 35, Michael Morton 33, Alister Fraser 31 and Josh Davis 29 points.

Meanwhile on Wednesday some of the Scone ladies ventured to Merriwa to enjoy golf and the hospitality of the Merriwa ladies on a memorable day coinciding with Bastille Day.

On Sunday, July 18 the Hunter River District 4 Man Ambrose was held at Muswellbrook Golf Course. A full field contested the event with three Scone teams participating. Congratulations to the Scone team of Jake Teague, Joel Harrison, Josh Noble and Wayne Headley who finished District champions with a 12 under par round of 60. The net winners were Brendan O'Connor, Graham Bull, James and Dave Elphick from Branxton with 55.

Lyn Banks, June Jukes and Julie Leckie will contest the Newcastle Golf Club Fern Bay Cup to be held over two days on July 19 and 20. The coming events at Scone for this week include the Wednesday stableford event on July 21. The ladies will play the deferred round of the District Medal qualifier sponsored by Noreen Marshall on July 22. On July 24 an 18 hole stableford will be played sponsored by the Scone Lady Golfers.