Denman hosts Jane Walmsley and Debbie Carroll Shields for primary and secondary schools in the region

THE juggernaut that is league tag continued to gain momentum at Denman on Wednesday.

Numerous school teams, both primary and secondary, from the region took part in the annual competitions, which are named after Jane Walmlsey and Debbie Carroll respectively.

Singleton's St Catherine's College, Muswellbrook South Public, Merriwa Central, Denman Public, St James' Primary Muswellbrook, St Joseph's Primary Denman, Muswellbrook High and St Joseph's High Aberdeen locked horns in a number of divisions - under-14, under-16 and opens.

NRL game development officer Central Hunter NSW Daniel Swan said he was happy with the response to the event, despite a couple of late withdrawals.

"This is our third year - and you can see the league tag numbers growing all the time," he explained.

"In fact, there are plenty of opportunities for girls to take up the sport, these days, in some form.

"We'd like to thank the Group 21 JRL Referees Association and the Sandy Hollow-Denman Devils JRLFC for supporting the tournament, too."