Hunter Valley Group 21 Junior Rugby League announces 2018 representative squads

THE future looks bright for Hunter Valley Group 21 Junior Rugby League’s latest batch of representatives.

Selectors recently announced the 2018 squads in the under-12, under-13 and under-14 age groups, showcasing gifted youngsters from Aberdeen, Denman, Muswellbrook, Scone and Singleton.

Hunter Valley Group 21 Junior Rugby League president Jamie Munn said it was great recognition of the players’ burgeoning skills.

“The under-12s and 13s are basically development sides,” he explained.

“They’ll play games with Group 4 and 19 – mainly to get them ready for ‘seniors’.

“The under-14s, and 15s (which are yet to be named), will contest trial matches in the lead-up to the Country Championships at Forster in September.

“There’s an exceptional talent pool in Group 21.

“And, selection in these outfits is just reward for their efforts; it also gives the young guys exposure to other coaches, which helps their growth in the sport.

“Over recent years, we’ve had the likes of Cade Cust, Jock Madden, Darren Albert, Dane Tilse, Adam Clydsdale, Tyler Randell, Josh King, Kerrod Holland, Steve Simpson, Alex McKinnon and Jamie Feeney, to name just a few, come through this region.

“In fact, every club in Group 21 has boasted players reaching NRL level.

“So, this is a terrific stepping stone.”

Hunter Valley Group 21 Junior Rugby League representative teams

Under-12 development squad: Isaac Adamthwaite (Singleton), Ashton Blake (Denman), Sam Carr (Scone), Jack Foley (Scone), Paris Forbes (Singleton), Jack Haylen (Muswellbrook), Aiden Horton (Denman), Naite Howlett (Singleton), Ryan Jurkans (Singleton), Dylan Keane (Scone), Blake Liverton (Scone), Luke Marco (Muswellbrook), Cooper Meldrum (Singleton), Campbell Munn (Scone), Heath Pittman (Scone), Nick Robinson (Muswellbrook), Cohen Shaw (Muswellbrook), Jackson Smith (Scone), Julian Stewart (Singleton), Tyler Ward (Singleton), Fletcher Williams (Muswellbrook)

Under-13 development squad: Rylan Barndon (Muswellbrook), Josh Crowther (Scone), Jacob Cordina (Scone), Callum Dowell (Scone), Drewe Gilbert (Scone), Braedon Hails (Scone), Deacon Hampstead (Singleton), Talon Harrington (Scone), Tangi Holaafolau (Scone), Jordan Mount (Scone), Riley Pennell (Scone), Brady Roser (Scone), Jaxon Schafer (Muswellbrook), Mykola Trofymenko (Scone), Dustyn Turner (Denman), Cohen Watson (Denman), James Watson (Scone), Aajay Watts (Scone), Tully Wholert (Singleton)

Under-14 representative squad: Jessy Burley (Singleton), Taj Claydon (Aberdeen), Jake Clydsdale (Scone), Tom Donehue (Singleton), Lawson Enosa (Aberdeen), Tom Dahmes (Scone), Eli Foote (Singleton), Ashton Frost (Scone), Mitchell Galvin (Aberdeen), Callum Goodwin (Aberdeen), Josh Halliwell (Aberdeen), Corben Hampstead (Singleton), Fergus Hartmann (Scone), Kayne Hoad (Denman), Tevita Holaafolau (Scone), Mitchell Kemp (Aberdeen), Hunter Marsh (Denman), Connor Newman (Scone), Junuh Warden (Scone)