Tigers to celebrate 95th anniversary

ABERDEEN Tigers Rugby League Club will celebrate its 95th anniversary reunion this week by taking on Muswellbrook in all three grades at McKinnon Field. 

The Tigers’ top grade currently sits in third place and faces a rejuvenated Rams on Friday at 7.30pm. 

While Aberdeen went down 26-22 to in-form Denman, bottom-placed Muswellbrook thumped Singleton 38-4 to move to just one point behind the Greyhounds.

The club’s league tag side will kick off an action packed night of football at 5pm, with reserve grade following at 6pm. An anniversary reunion dinner will then be hosted by the Aberdeen Sport and Recreation Club from 6pm on Saturday.  

A 30-year reunion for the 1985 first grade premiership winning team is also being incorporated into the night. 

The 1985 Group 21 season decider saw Aberdeen who had qualified for their first grand final since 1949 up against Muswellbrook who were aiming for a third successive premiership. 

The grand final was held at Jefferson Park, Aberdeen and drew a massive crowd to witness one of the most anticipated deciders for many years. 

VINTAGE: The Aberdeen Tigers’ grand final winning side from 1985.

VINTAGE: The Aberdeen Tigers’ grand final winning side from 1985.

Aberdeen’s squad was Guy McKellar, Tim Morrison, Rod Margetts, John Adams, Peter Donaldson, Wayne Chapman, Brian Harshman, Casey McInnes, ‘Butch’ Smith (c/c), Greg Bock, Keith Harris, Tony Murray, Robert Colbert, Peter Fitzsimmons, Donald Adams, Paul Wilkinson, David Douglass, Jason Hoogerwerf , Brian Whitehead, Tony Dixon, Greg Harris, Murray Power, John White, Sean Hardy, Mark Bordignon. 

Muswellbrook’s team was Chris Doyle, Peter Kerr, William Ward, Robert French, Keith Lang, Terry Richardson, Shane Lee, Ray French, Wayne Barnes, Greg McCormack, Arthur Earl (c/c), Brian Clarke, Jamie Irving, and Col Foster.

The Tigers won a gripping encounter 4-2 over Muswellbrook and the Aberdeen supporters celebrated as the 36-year premiership drought was 

broken. Aberdeen has since gone on to win first grade premierships in 1987, 1989, 1991, 1992, 1993, 2001 and 2010.

Tickets are still available and should be purchased prior to the event. For tickets or details, email aberdeenoldboys@gmail.com or call Aberdeen Sport and Recreation Club on 6543 7226 or Shane Lloyd on 6543 7365.